When you hold a nursing license issued by the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing, you must report certain disciplinary infractions and criminal offenses to the board within a particular timeframe. The law stating as much, known as Act 6 of 2018, also provides a possible means through which to apply to the board for an expungement after a violation.
Per the Pennsylvania Department of State, if you hold a professional nursing license, you have 30 days to notify the nursing board if any of the following occur.
You become the subject of a disciplinary action
You must notify the board that issued your current medical license within 30 days of you having disciplinary action taken against you by a licensing or accrediting body in a different jurisdiction.
You face pending criminal charges
Act 6 of 2018 also mandates that you must report any pending criminal charges within 30 days of receiving them. Please note that this means you must report the charge within 30 days of receiving the charge, itself – and not 30 days of receiving a conviction for it.
You receive a criminal conviction
You also have to tell the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing if the charge you face winds up leading to a conviction. This applies to misdemeanor as well as felony offenses. It also applies to cases that end with a verdict of guilt, an admission of guilt or a plea of nolo contender, among other circumstances.
These Pennsylvania reporting guidelines apply to Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, Certified Registered Nurse Practitioners, Licensed Dieticians and Nutritionists and Clinical Nurse Specialists.